Orange Bowl

Orange Bowl Committee elects new board members

Newly elected board member Shawn D. Crews has been an active member of the Orange Bowl Committee's community initiatives.

Miami Lakes, FL ( – The Orange Bowl Committee held voting for its Second Vice Chair position as well as seven Board of Directors positions at its annual elections held February 11, it was announced by President and Chair Andrew P. Hertz.

Michael B. Chavies was elected by the membership as Second Vice Chair, in line to serve as President and Chair of the Orange Bowl Committee for the 2016-17 season. Chavies joins Mr. Hertz, Chair-elect Luis E. Boué, First Vice Chair Lee E. Stapleton, Secretary Ann E. Pope, Treasurer Shaun M. Davis, Immediate Past President O. Ford Gibson and Chief Executive Officer Eric L. Poms as members of the executive committee of the Board of Directors.

Newly elected as at-large Board Members were Shawn D. Crews, Yvonne Turner Johnson, Mario Murgado and Philip P. Smith. Sean Pittman and Douglas P. Wiley were re-elected. Peter T. Pruitt Jr. was newly elected to the Board of Directors in the role of Past Chair/President.

The Board of Directors, led by Mr. Hertz will preside over the Orange Bowl Committee for the 2013-14 season, which includes the 80th Discover Orange Bowl on January 3, 2014, the 20th MetroPCS Orange Bowl Basketball Classic and the 15th season of the Orange Bowl Youth Football Alliance.


2013-2014 Orange Bowl Committee Board of Directors:


  • Andrew P. Hertz, President & Chair
  • Luis E. Boué, President-Elect & Chair-Elect
  • Lee E. Stapleton, First Vice Chair
  • Michael B. Chavies, Second Vice Chair
  • Ann E. Pope, Secretary
  • Shaun M. Davis, Treasurer
  • O. Ford Gibson, Immediate Past President & Chair
  • Eric L. Poms, Chief Executive Officer

Board of Directors

  • Timothy A. Battle
  • Shawn D. Crews
  • Albert E. Dotson Jr.
  • Larry Gautier
  • Sara B. Herald
  • Yvonne Turner Johnson
  • Christopher E. Knight
  • Matthew E. Morrall
  • Mario Murgado
  • Sean Pittman
  • Peter T. Pruitt Jr.
  • Benjamine Reid
  • Jose C. Romano
  • Jeff E. Rubin
  • Philip P. Smith
  • Douglas P. Wiley

Committee Chair Board Members (Ex-Officio)

  • Charles H. Johnson; Chair, Team Host Committee
  • Tom Pennekamp; Chair, Team Host Committee



Back to All News